Entire territory Home / Discover the area / Art and culture / Artistic works / Bridge over the Tresinaro river in Scandiano

Bridge over the Tresinaro river

The bridge was opened in 1858 by Duke Francis V and Vincenzo Mattioli, the last mayor of Scandiano to be appointed by the Dukes of the House of Este.

National Road SS 467

42019 Scandiano


From Via Mazzini, turning left toward Reggio Emilia, you reach the bridge over the Tresinaro River.

The bridge was altered in 1883 to allow the construction of the local Reggio-Scandiano railway line, extended in 1891 to reach Sassuolo. The walkway over the bridge was added in 1927. During World War II, between November 7th and 8th 1944, the bridge was mined and blown up by partisans from Scandiano to prevent the Nazis from transporting large quantities of wheat and general supplies (stored in Scandiano) to their troops stationed in the Po area. An exact replica of the original 19th-century design of the bridge was rebuilt immediately after the War.

How to get there:By car:
from the A1 motorway Reggio Emilia exit, take the SS 467 ring-road towards Scandiano-Sassuolo; from Modena, take the SS 486 "Passo delle Radici" road towards Sassuolo, then at Veggia take the SS 467 road towards Scandiano-Reggio Emilia.
Public transport:
there are local trains for Scandiano-Sassuolo which leave from Reggio Emilia Station; there is also bus service.

From Scandiano The bridge can be reached from Via Mazzini, turning left toward Reggio Emilia
Related content