Entire territory Home / Discover the area / Art and culture / Churches, baptisteries / Santa Maria Maggiore and San Genesio Parish Church in Brescello

Santa Maria Maggiore and San Genesio Parish Church

The parish church, dedicated to the nativity of St. Mary, was erected in 1837 according to a design by Luigi Groppi.

Address and contacts

Via Santa Maria 2 - 42041 Brescello
Phone 0039 0522 687250

Opening times

From 09:30 a.m. to 12:00 and from 03:15 p.m. to 07:00 p.m.

How to get there

See the indication to reach Brescello

Historical notes

The works for the creation of the façade were completed at the end of the XIX century, with the addition of the statues of the Madonna del Rosario and San Genesio at the sides.
Inside one can admire various works by the local painter Carlo Zatti. The organ dates back to 1767 and has five bays with 33 pipes.The church was used as a site for the filming of various episodes of the popular films featuring Peppone and Don Camillo. Well-known to those who enjoyed the films, the “Crocifisso Parlante” (Talking Crucifix), a work by the Veronese artist Bruno Avesani, was located on the left of the entrance in the chapel that served as baptistery.
A curious detail is the portal arch on the façade, which was not part of the original structure, added in 1955 as a donation of Rizzoli, the company which produced the fortunate series of films.

Useful information

Mess times