Entire territory Home / Discover the area / Art and culture / Villas, historical residences and theatres / Town Hall and Tricolour Flag Hall in Reggio Emilia

Town Hall and Tricolour Flag Hall

The building has been the Town Hall since 1434. A date carved in a block of sandstone on the right-hand side of the arch in via Farini confirms that the building of the town hall site began in 1414. The portion facing the south side of the square was completed in 1417.

Address and contacts

Piazza Prampolini, 1 - 42121 Reggio nell'Emilia
Phone 0039 0522 456586 - Town hall Reception
sito web GiraReggio
sito web Municipality of Reggio Emilia

Opening times

The headquarter of the Municipality is open from Monday to Saturday from 7.30 a.m. to 7.00 p.m. On Sunday from 8.00 a.m. to 12.30 p.m.
The palace is the seat of the Municipality so it isn't possible the visit. It's necessary to enter in the Palace though to visit the Tricolor Hall.

Entrance fee

Free entrance

How to get there

Reggio nell'Emilia

The palace of the Municipality is on Piazza Prampolini, in the town centre.

Historical notes

It is partly situated at the beginning of via Toschi and partly on the south side of the main square, dedicated to Camillo Prampolini, where is also the Cathedral.

The Municipal Council began its activity in 1434, after the construction of the vaults over via Farini and via Croce Bianca; as reported in 1461, it appears that the external loggia below was also used for meetings. The Town Hall façade, enhanced by a three-arched portico with coupled pillars, was built in 1774, as per design by Ludovico Bolognini. The Town Hall coat of arms is situated under the roof cornice. Some internal rooms are decorated with eighteenth century frescoes and nineteenth century paintings.